Four days after the intended date of announcement, the results for the remaining Students’ Union (SU) full-time officer positions were released on 19 March at 1:30 p.m. in the Falmer House Common Room. The winning candidates for the next academic year are Lewis Wilson (Education and Employability Officer), Elena Southard (Student Living and Sustainability Officer), and Esther Adeyemo (International Students’ Officer). 

They will join Naina Bahl (Wellbeing Officer), Jada Orlebar-Earle (Diversity, Access and Participation Officer), and Ardeshir Alexander-Sefre (Sports, Societies and Events Officer), who were announced on 15 March, to form the full-time officer team next year.

Remaining results being announced in the Falmer House Common Room. Image: Ada Carpenter

The delay in results was due to a complaint made against certain candidates running in the delayed categories. The election rules state that “disqualification will arise after a maximum of three instances of misdemeanor.” Based on the publicly available sanction log, however, no candidate or slate received more than one strike against them. No candidates were disqualified in the final vote breakdowns.

While most of the roles were won with a margin of around 50 votes or more, the Student Living and Sustainability Officer role was won with a difference of just two votes between the top two candidates. Overall, the total number of unique voters was 3585, with 17238 votes cast. There was a turnout of 21%.

The Badger will be publishing interviews with the winning candidates in April.

Categories: News Top Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *