The University of Sussex Students’ Union held its annual awards ceremony at Brighton Racecourse on Friday 6 May.

The event differed slightly from events in previous years as the CHEERS awards, the ceremony celebrating achievements within student societies and media, was amalgamated with the sports awards.

The event was hosted by Kit Bradshaw and Carl Salton-Cox, who host a show together on University Radio Falmer (URF), the University of Sussex’s radio station.

Awards were handed out for contributions to student media. Badger arts editor-in-chief, Olivia Wilson, received the award for best student media editor after spending all three years of her undergraduate degree working for the Badger, the Pulse and Poda Poda.

Co-features editors, Kieran Burn and Joe Jamieson, were given an award for best story after writing a feature on the new Student Life Centre for the Badger, which is also available online at

The newest edition to student media at Sussex, UniTV, was commended for innovation in student media. Recently the society won three awards at the National Student Television Association (NaSTA) Awards 2011.

The night had kicked off by celebrating the achievements in sport at Sussex throughout this academic year. Richard Lynch, of Sussex Football, and Grainne Le Fevre, of Sussex Volleyball, won sportsman and sportswoman of the year respectively.

The Ultimate Frisbee team continued their current bout of success by taking home the BUCS team of the year award. The team, known as Mohawks, also won the BUCS outdoor national championships in Sheffield on 19 and 20 March.

Meanwhile Sussex Fencing won Club of the year and Women’s Cricket picked up most improved club after increasing their membership and organising a ‘street twenty’ cricket tournament involving other university teams from around the country.

Full Blue awards, given to sportspeople who have represented their sports at a national level, were handed to Rosie Thomas, Ashley Yeo, Lena Erdil, Nick White and Ali Monteath.

Further awards were given out for contributions to student life on campus.

The newly founded Union Computers was given an award for outstanding achievement in Union volunteering.

The Christian Union’s tea and toast campaign was narrowly beaten by Students Against Sexual Harassment for the award celebrating the best student campaign.

Four people walked away with the Union volunteer of the year prize, James Ferguson, Carly Pepper, Lucy Atkinson and Vincenzo Volpe.

The food co-operative, SCOOP, won best new society for buying dried foods in bulk and selling them onto students at near wholesale prices.

Society personality of the year went to Bobby Treweek for his continued and extensive involvement in various societies.

Scott Sheridan, the Students’ Union Activities officer said, “Everyone had a great time at the Student Awards on Friday, the whole event was a great success”.

Cameron Tait, Students’ Union President added, “We’re proud that we could put on an event to celebrate students’ achievements this year. I think the event was incredible and the effort that went on behind the scenes to make it happen showed in the amazing end result”.

A total of 42 awards were handed out during the evening. Prior to the awards ceremony, students from the university nominated fellow students in the varied categories, giving their reasons for their nominations.

The different panels of staff and officers around the Students’ Union then made their choices looking at the merit of the nominees and their contribution as well as the reasons for their nominations.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *